Iowa Car and Booster Seat Laws

In Iowa, a child must be in a child restraint:

  • Rear Facing Child Car Seat: younger than 1 year and less than 20 pounds
  • 1 through 5 years

An Adult safety belt is permissible for children 6 through 17 years

The information contained on this site are for reference only. Please check the with you state for up to date information.


Graco Nautilus 3-in-1 Car Seat, Matrix
List Price: $189.99
Sale Price: $123.49
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours


Britax Marathon 70 Convertible Car Seat (Previous Version), Onyx
List Price: $289.99
Sale Price: $319.74
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days




Child Car Seat and Booster Laws By State





No Responses to “Iowa Car and Booster Seat Laws”

  1. Rene York June 28, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

    What does the law require for seat restraint for 6 yr olds in 2014 in state of iowa?

    • colleen miller October 4, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

      Please reply on a 6 yr. old boy riding in the back seat of car or pick up. Is he “by law” with seat belt on him at all times.

Leave a Reply